RD_011: EECA EV Metrics by NZ Territorial Authority (~Jan 2026 snapshot)

Source

https://www.eeca.govt.nz/assets/EECA-Resources/Public-EV-Charger-Dashboard/EV-metrics-by-district.csv — original source (opens in a new tab; the file is not redistributed)

Source

EECA (Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority). EV Metrics by NZ Territorial Authority — district-level rollup. Export ≈ January 2026 (vintage inferred from internal consistency with RD_010 snapshot; no explicit export-date metadata in file).

License: CC BY 4.0 (standard EECA open-data licence; confirm at portal).

Scope

  • 66 rows × 13 columns = NZ Territorial Authorities (single snapshot)
  • Columns: District, Charge Points, Units, Sites, Battery Electric Vehicles, Total Vehicles, Population Estimate, Total KW Charging, Region, BEVs per Charge Point, KW Charging per BEV, BEV Penetration, BEVs per Capita
  • Coverage: all NZ TAs across 16 regions
  • Aggregation: charger inventory rolls up from RD_010’s unit-level register; BEV registrations from MoT/NZTA; population from Stats NZ
  • Companion datasets: RD_010 (unit-level register that this rolls up), RD_012 (forthcoming region rollup), RD_006 (IEA country aggregate cross-check)

Relevance to NI and thesis

NI (Lower Moutere BEV-scenario calibration):

  • Tasman row (key_claim 8) is the canonical per-district anchor: 1.69% BEVs per capita → ~2.2 BEVs in Lower Moutere today; 2.31 kW/BEV → ~5 kW current implied charging capacity for the pilot village
  • 30.5 BEVs/CP in Tasman vs national 42.1 = Lower Moutere sits in a relatively well-provisioned district, but Kohatu + Murchison corridor sites distort this favourably; remove them and the local picture would be worse
  • National per-BEV provision 2.01 kW (key_claim 2) updates the I01 sizing rule-of-thumb anchor (prior cross-source estimate 1.33 was less defensible)
  • Adjacent districts (key_claim 9) inform regional-corridor mobility scenarios

Thesis (district-level NZ EV inequality):

  • Wellington region dominance of penetration (key_claim 4) — 5 of top 10 districts = governance/policy-concentration argument
  • Selwyn + QT-Lakes + outer-Christchurch + Wellington-region commuter belt = wealth-correlated EV uptake (key_claim 5)
  • Bottom 10 rural laggards (key_claim 6) — 11-18× gap vs Wellington = structural argument that rural remote-community EV self-sufficiency cannot be extrapolated from urban averages
  • Charger supply inequality (key_claim 7) on a different axis from BEV stock — two independent NZ structural inequalities

Research targets

Research gaps

  • RT_146 (medium) — EECA District-level EV metrics time-series. This file is single-snapshot only; for trajectory analysis NI needs quarterly or annual snapshots showing how district penetration rates evolve. EECA portal may publish historical rollups or rebuild on request.
  • RT_147 (low) — Confirm BEV count source + definition. The file does not state whether BEV counts come from MoT, NZTA, EECA registration scraping, or a combined source. PHEV exclusion is implied but not stated. Affects calibration when cross-referencing with RD_006.

Connections

Links to

Sources (2): RD_006 · RD_010

Referenced by