Source
https://www.meridianenergy.co.nz/public/Investors/RUAKAKA-BATTERY-ENERGY-STORAGE-SYSTEM.pdf — original source (opens in a new tab; the file is not redistributed)
Meridian Energy (2022) — Ruakākā BESS Investment Decision (OT_114)
Primary NZ utility-scale BESS disclosure — the document behind CR_008's Ruakākā anchor
Meridian Energy’s 15 December 2022 investor presentation announcing the final investment decision for the Ruakākā Battery Energy Storage System (100 MW peak / 200 MWh, 2-hour duration) on a 3 ha site adjacent to Transpower’s 220 kV Bream Bay substation near Whangārei. It discloses the technology stack (Saft battery containers + Power Electronics inverters/transformers; plus 33 kV switchgear + SCADA + the Transpower connection under the balance-of-plant contracts), the integration architecture (four parallel contracts, grid connection via Transpower), and the headline economics — **NZD
186m capital investment incl. contingency**, up to35m/yr revenue,20–30m EBITDAF p.a.,6m opex p.a. This is the authoritative primary behind the Meridian Ruakākā anchor already in CR_008 (which quoted the USD conversion, ~USD119M /595/kWh).data_quality: verified— every figure read verbatim from the deck. ⚠ Utility-scale (100 MW), stage one of a two-stage solar-plus-storage park — a D01 scaling/upper-bound reference, not a community-scale design point; and a forward-looking investment-decision deck (planned H2-2024 completion; actual 2025), so figures are committed/planned, not as-built.
Summary
This is Meridian Energy’s investor presentation dated 15 December 2022 confirming the committed final investment decision for the Ruakākā Battery Energy Storage System (BESS) in Northland. The BESS is stage one of a two-stage project that anticipates a future 130 MW solar farm on the balance of the land. The system is 100 MW peak / 200 MWh (a 2-hour battery) on a 3 ha site (land purchased 2021), located a 30-minute drive from Whangārei immediately adjacent to Transpower’s 220 kV Bream Bay substation (co-located with Channel Infrastructure’s fuel import terminal and Northport). Delivery uses a “multi contract” approach — four contracts running in parallel: Meridian’s civil works, Meridian’s electrical works, the Saft BESS supply contract (the bulk of project capital cost), and Transpower’s grid connection works. Per the Slide-4 contract-package diagram the Saft contract covers the Saft battery containers plus Power Electronics inverters and transformers/switchgear, while the 33 kV switchgear and SCADA control/comms fall under Meridian’s electrical works and the grid connection under Transpower; Meridian’s civil scope covers site access, drainage, pad, BESS foundations, fencing and firewater. Economics disclosed: NZD 186m capital investment including contingency; 20–30m EBITDAF p.a. (low–high scenarios); 6m operating cost p.a. (mainly transmission charges); up to 35m revenue p.a. from price arbitrage, reserve-market participation (co-optimised 6-second FIR and 60-second SIR in the North Island) and indirect revenue. The shared switchgear/buildings are stated to reduce the future stage-two solar project’s unit cost by ~$20/MWh. Planned completion was second half of 2024. This is the authoritative primary behind the Meridian Ruakākā benchmark already cited in CR_008; it resolves the RT_088 retrieval target for the NZ utility-scale technology stack, integration architecture and total CAPEX (though the itemised per-contract CAPEX split is not disclosed).
Key claims
- claim: "Meridian has committed to construction of the Ruakākā Battery Energy Storage System (BESS). Strategic location immediately adjacent to Transpower's 220kV Bream Bay substation. Direct revenue from electricity price arbitrage and reserve market participation. Reduced price separation benefit to Meridian's portfolio. The BESS project is stage one of a two-stage project that anticipates the future construction of a 130MW solar farm."
source_location: "Slide 2 'Today's announcement'"
- claim: "BESS site is a 30 minute drive from Whangārei, located adjacent to Transpower's 220kV Bream Bay substation, Channel Infrastructure's fuel import terminal and Northport. The balance of the land, along with additional nearby land, will be used for development of a 130MW solar farm. A 'multi contract' approach will be used to deliver the project. Bulk of the project capital cost is the battery contract with Saft. Balance of plant delivers the civil and electrical infrastructure for the battery and provides the export path via a connection to Transpower, and also includes operations, maintenance and switch room buildings."
source_location: "Slide 3 'Project overview'"
- claim: "Four major contracts will be running in parallel: Meridian's civil and electrical works, the Saft BESS contract and Transpower's grid connection works. Per the contract-package diagram, the Saft BESS Contract comprises the Power Electronics inverter, the Saft battery container, and the Power Electronics transformer and switchgear. The 33kV switchgear and SCADA control/comms fall under Meridian Electrical Works; the Transpower Works Agreement covers 33kV switchgear plus the Transpower connection into the Bream Bay substation. Meridian Civil Works include: site access, drainage, pad, BESS foundations, fencing, firewater. (⚠ The diagram assigns component SCOPE to each contract; it does NOT itemise a dollar value against any single contract — Slide 3 states only that the battery contract with Saft is the 'bulk' of capital cost.)"
source_location: "Slide 4 'Project overview' (contract-package diagram)"
- claim: "100 MW peak and 200 MWh (2 hours) energy storage. 3 hectare project site (land purchased in 2021). Project completion in second half of 2024. Battery Energy Storage Solution (integrated supply, install, commission, operational services)."
source_location: "Slide 5 'Project specifications'"
- claim: "$186m capital investment, including contingency. $20m – $30m EBITDAF p.a. (average, low – high scenarios). $6m operating costs p.a. mainly transmission costs (connection, benefit-based investment and residual charges). Up to $35m revenue p.a. from price arbitrage, reserve market participation, indirect revenue."
source_location: "Slide 5 'Project specifications'"
- claim: "Shared infrastructure (switchgear, buildings) will reduce stage two solar project unit cost by ~$20/MWh."
source_location: "Slide 5 'Project specifications' (⚠ pdftotext renders '$20/MWh' as '$20\\MWh')"
- claim: "Arbitrage means buying power at low price periods and selling at high price periods; this 'load shifting' secures revenue and supports the grid at peak times. 6 second fast reserve (FIR) and 60 second sustained reserve (SIR) are procured by island and are co-optimised nationwide; a BESS will operate and secure revenue from both the FIR and SIR markets in the North Island simultaneously alongside any arbitrage activity. Increasing supply in the North Island reserve markets will increase HVDC transfers, with a corresponding reduction in North Island thermal generation; reduced separation between North Island and South Island prices will deliver energy margin benefits."
source_location: "Slide 5 'Project specifications' (lower panel)"
- claim: "All currency amounts are in New Zealand dollars unless stated otherwise."
source_location: "Slide 6 'Disclaimer'"Neobiome Intelligence relevance
This is the authoritative primary behind the Meridian Ruakākā anchor that CR_008 carries as its NZ utility-scale upper bound, and it feeds D01 (D01) as a scaling / upper-bound reference. Value is four-fold.
- NZ utility-scale BESS CAPEX anchor — in NZD, from the primary (D01). The disclosed capital investment is NZD
186m including contingency** for **100 MW / 200 MWh** → a derived **~NZD930/kWh all-in (186,000,000 ÷ 200,000 kWh). CR_008 records the same project as USD119M ≈ USD595/kWh — that is the USD conversion (NZD186m × ~0.64 NZD/USD as at Dec 2022 ≈ USD119m; NZD930/kWh × ~0.64 ≈ USD595/kWh). **Use NZD186m as the primary figure**; the USD119M / $595/kWh is a downstream conversion, not a second data point. This corroborates and upgrades the provenance of the CR_008 anchor from a Perplexity-synthesis quote to a read primary. - Disclosed technology stack & contract scope (D01 — technology menu). The Slide-4 contract diagram splits the plant across four contracts: the Saft BESS contract covers the Saft battery containers plus Power Electronics inverters and transformers/switchgear (Slide 5 describes this as an integrated supply, install, commission and operational-services solution); the 33 kV switchgear and SCADA control/comms sit under Meridian’s electrical works; the grid connection sits under Transpower; and Meridian’s civil works cover the site/foundations. The Saft battery contract is the “bulk” of capital cost (Slide 3). ⚠ The deck does not itemise a dollar value against the Saft contract, nor disclose the battery cell chemistry (Saft’s utility product is Li-ion, but the source is silent — do not infer).
- Integration architecture (D01 — grid-connection lever). A four-contract split (Meridian civil, Meridian electrical, Saft BESS, Transpower connection) with the export path via 33 kV switchgear into Transpower’s 220 kV Bream Bay substation, on a 3 ha footprint. A concrete NZ template for what a grid-connected utility BESS actually requires — useful contrast to the off-grid/community microgrid cases already in the corpus.
- Revenue-stack structure (D01 — economics of storage). Up to
35m/yr revenue** from price arbitrage + reserve-market participation (co-optimised 6-second FIR + 60-second SIR in the North Island) + indirect revenue; **20–30m EBITDAF p.a.; $6m opex p.a. (mainly transmission — connection, benefit-based investment, residual charges). Documents the NZ wholesale/ancillary-services revenue layers a BESS can stack.
Scope caveat. This is a 100 MW utility BESS, stage one of a solar-plus-storage energy park — orders of magnitude above NI’s community-scale envelope (CR_008 community-scale is ~10–200 kWh). The CAPEX (~NZD $930/kWh at 200 MWh) and the reserve-market revenue stack are a utility-scale reference / upper bound for D01, not a community design point: the FIR/SIR + arbitrage revenue depends on direct wholesale-market participation not generally available at community scale, and per-kWh utility CAPEX does not transfer linearly down to community BESS. Treat as scaling context, exactly as CR_008 flagged.
Vintage caveat. A 15-Dec-2022 investment-decision deck: EBITDAF, revenue and the H2-2024 completion date are forward-looking commitments/scenarios, not as-built outturn (actual completion 2025 per CR_008). Use the $186m committed CAPEX as the anchor; treat the annual financials as ex-ante projections.
Research targets
Resolved
- RT_088 (RESOLVED → this page): Meridian Ruakākā BESS project documentation retrieved and read verbatim. The NZ utility-scale technology stack (Saft battery containers + Power Electronics inverters/transformers; 33 kV switchgear + SCADA under Meridian’s electrical works; grid connection under Transpower), the integration architecture (four parallel contracts; export via Transpower 220 kV Bream Bay substation), and the total disclosed CAPEX (NZD $186m incl. contingency for 100 MW / 200 MWh) are now held. ⚠ Not disclosed by the primary (so unresolved sub-details, not spun into child RTs): the itemised per-contract CAPEX split (Saft battery vs balance-of-plant vs Transpower connection — the deck states only that the Saft contract is the “bulk”), the as-built outturn cost/date, and the battery cell chemistry. These would come, if ever needed, from Meridian’s FY2023/FY2024 Annual/Integrated Report or a project-completion NZX release.
Notes
Primary corporate investor-disclosure presentation (6 slides), Meridian Energy Limited, dated 15 December 2022, announcing the committed final investment decision for the Ruakākā BESS. Read verbatim via pdftotext -layout → data_quality: verified. All monetary values are NZD (Slide 6 disclaimer: “All currency amounts are in New Zealand dollars unless stated otherwise”). context: ni — the calibration value is the CAPEX + technology-stack + revenue-structure data; it feeds D01 as a utility-scale scaling reference.
⚠ Currency/figure reconciliation with CR_008: the primary states NZD 186m capital investment (incl. contingency); [[cr_008_nz-battery-storage-cost-2024-2025|CR_008]] records "USD 119M ≈ USD 595/kWh all-in". These are the same figure — NZD 186m ≈ USD 119m at ~0.64 NZD/USD (Dec 2022), and NZD 186m ÷ 200 MWh = NZD 930/kWh ≈ USD 595/kWh. The **authoritative primary is NZD 186m**; the USD values are a downstream conversion. (Derived per-kWh figures here are arithmetic on the 186m total, not quoted from the deck.)
⚠ Vintage: investment-DECISION deck — planned “completion in second half of 2024”; RT_088 / CR_008 record actual completion 2025. Annual financials (EBITDAF, revenue) are forward scenarios, not outturn.
⚠ OCR artifact: “~20/MWh" (shared-infrastructure benefit to stage-two solar) appears as "20\MWh” in the pdftotext output — the backslash is an extraction artifact for the forward slash.
Macron: “Ruakākā” carries macrons in the deck; the filename slug is ASCII “ruakaka” (§2 filenames ASCII-only; macrons in display_name: only). url: left blank — no confirmed public download URL (the deck itself points readers to www.meridianenergy.co.nz/investors); obtained via Meridian’s investor disclosures for the 15-Dec-2022 BESS investment decision.
Connections
Links to
EDT domains (1): D01: Renewable Energy & Storage Systems
Sources (1): CR_008
Referenced by
EDT domains (1): D01: Renewable Energy & Storage Systems