DS_004: Aeolos-V 10kW — vertical-axis wind turbine (VAWT) manufacturer datasheet (Aeolos Wind Energy Ltd, UK): rated…

Source

https://www.windturbinestar.com — original source (opens in a new tab; the file is not redistributed)

Aeolos-V 10kW — vertical-axis wind turbine (VAWT) manufacturer datasheet

The RT_202 VAWT supplier datasheet — first vertical-axis turbine spec in the corpus (advances, does not fully resolve, RT_202)

Manufacturer datasheet (Aeolos Wind Energy Ltd, UK; windturbinestar.com) for the Aeolos-V 10kW, a 3-blade aluminium-alloy H-rotor vertical-axis wind turbine (rotor 6.0 m high x 5.5 m wide, 980 kg, 20-yr design life). Rated 10 kW / max 12 kW; cut-in 2.5 m/s (start-up 1.5 m/s); rated wind 11 m/s; survival 52.5 m/s. Manufacturer annual-energy table gives 15,026 kWh @ 5 m/s and 52,770 kWh @ 10 m/s. This is the concrete VAWT spec that the wind_turbine model-decision was gated on (RT_202) — but it is an uncertified marketing sheet: no Cp, no stated wind-distribution basis for the annual-energy figures, and no price (RT_202 also sought NZD cost). Swept area and capacity factor below are derived, not stated. data_quality: medium.

Summary

A single-product manufacturer datasheet for the Aeolos-V 10 kW vertical-axis wind turbine (VAWT), sold by Aeolos Wind Energy Ltd (UK) via windturbinestar.com. It is a three-blade, aluminium-alloy, H-type (straight-bladed Darrieus-style) vertical-axis machine with a three-phase permanent-magnet generator, a 6.0 m rotor height and 5.5 m rotor width, a turbine weight of 980 kg and a stated 20-year design life. The performance panel states a rated power of 10 kW (max output 12 kW) at a rated wind speed of 11 m/s, a cut-in of 2.5 m/s (with a claimed 1.5 m/s start-up), a survival wind speed of 52.5 m/s, generator efficiency 96%, and noise < 45 dB(A). A tabulated “Annual Energy Output” versus wind speed runs from 3,618 kWh at 3 m/s to 61,544 kWh at 12 m/s (15,026 kWh at 5 m/s; 52,770 kWh at 10 m/s), which the marketing text says is calculated “according to EN61400-2 (IEC 61400-2)”. Off-grid (96/120 V, MPPT) and grid-tied (450 V) configurations are both offered, with a PWM dump-load box, mechanical/hydraulic braking, and optional remote monitoring for unattended remote sites.

This document is the VAWT supplier datasheet the wind-turbine model decision was waiting on (RT_202) — the wind_turbine page had ruled that no VAWT technology would be added to the NI engine “on benchmark evidence alone” until a real supplier spec (rated power, Cp, CF at NZ wind speeds) was in hand. This datasheet partly fills that gap: it supplies rated power, a power/energy curve and a cut-in speed, but not a power coefficient (Cp), not a stated capacity-factor basis, and not a price — so it advances RT_202 without fully resolving it. It is the first vertical-axis turbine in the corpus, sitting alongside the two horizontal-axis small-wind references, the NZ-made Powerhouse Thinair 102 (DS_001) and the ICC-SWCC-certified Bergey Excel 15 (DS_002).

Key claims

- claim: "Specification panel: Generator Type = Three Phase Permanent Magnet; Rotor Height = 6.0 m (19.7 ft); Rotor Width = 5.5 m (18.0 ft); Turbine Weight = 980 kg (2160.5 lbs); Blade Material = Aluminum Alloy; Blade Quantity = 3 pcs; Working Temperature = -20 C to 50 C; Design Lifetime = 20 years."
  source_location: "p.2, Specification panel (spec sheet)"
- claim: "Performance panel: Rated Power = 10 kW; Max Output Power = 12 kW; Cut In Wind Speed = 2.5 m/s (5.6 mph); Rated Wind Speed = 11 m/s (24.6 mph); Survival Wind Speed = 52.5 m/s (117.4 mph); Generator Efficiency = 96%; Noise Level = < 45 dB(A); Warranty = 5 years."
  source_location: "p.2, Performance panel (spec sheet)"
- claim: "Annual Energy Output table (kWh/year vs wind speed): 3 m/s = 3,618; 4 m/s = 8,158; 5 m/s = 15,026; 6 m/s = 23,434; 7 m/s = 32,088; 8 m/s = 40,061; 9 m/s = 46,968; 10 m/s = 52,770; 11 m/s = 57,576; 12 m/s = 61,544. The 'Aeolos-V 10kW Power Curve' chart plots Power (W) on a y-axis running to 16,000 W against wind speed on the x-axis (out to 35 m/s)."
  source_location: "p.2, 'Aeolos-V 10kW Wind Turbine Annual Energy Output' table + 'Aeolos-V 10kW Power Curve' chart"
- claim: "Noise / immission map: a separate 'Aeolos-V 10kW Wind Turbine sound pressure levels immission map' plots sound-pressure level in dB bands (legend runs 5~10 up to 50~55 dB) against distance from rotor centre (x-axis 10-45 m) and wind speed (y-axis 5-15 m/s), and carries the note 'No data above 15m/s' — i.e. the 'No data above 15m/s' label belongs to this noise map, not to the power curve. It corroborates the < 45 dB(A) noise spec at distance. (Sheet prints 'Nosie Level' and 'Distance form rotor centre' — original spellings retained.)"
  source_location: "p.2, 'Aeolos-V 10kW Wind Turbine sound pressure levels immission map' (noise map)"
- claim: "Safety & control: Blades RPM Limitation = 150 RPM; PWM Dump Load = 12kW Box; Electrical Brake = Auto/Manual. Optional: Auto Hydraulic Brake System (Auto/Manual); Remote Monitoring System (Internet/Wireless); Off Grid = 96/120 V; Grid Tied = 450 V."
  source_location: "p.2, Safety panel + Optional panel (spec sheet)"
- claim: "Marketing performance claims: 'Aeolos-V 10kW could start up with 1.5 m/s wind speed and has the power output in 2.5 m/s to inverter'; the MPPT charger for off-grid uses a 96V/120V MPPT charging controller to 'increase the charging efficiency to 94%' and 'can charge the battery bank when wind speed is above 3.5 m/s'; 'According to EN61400-2 (IEC 61400-2) standard, Aeolos-V 10kW annual output is 15026kWh at 5m/s wind speed. The annual output at 10m/s is 52770 kWh.'"
  source_location: "p.3, 'High Efficiency' section"
- claim: "Design / safety text: 'Aeolos blades use the special aerodynamic design which limits the max rotating speed to 150 rpm even the wind speed is 30m/s or 40m/s'; described as 'safer and more reliable than traditional vertical axis wind turbine'. A '15kW dump load box with PWM loading function' consumes over-power output to control voltage in strong wind. Auto Hydraulic Brake System is 'suitable for the remote installation sites, like the island, telecommunication tower station which does not have people checking'."
  source_location: "p.3 'Triple Safety Protection' + p.4 'Intelligence Control'"
- claim: "Manufacturer / provenance: Aeolos Wind Energy, Ltd (UK), 27 Old Gloucester Street, London WC1N 3AX, United Kingdom; Tel +44 753 623 6484; sales@windturbinestar.com; windturbinestar.com; strapline 'Aeolos wind turbine SINCE 1986'; product line 'Aeolos-V Series'; 5-year warranty. Off-grid wiring uses MPPT Controller -> Battery Bank -> Grid-Off Inverter; grid-tied uses CTC-15K Grid Tied Controller -> Win-10K-G Inverter -> Isolation Transformer."
  source_location: "p.2 footer + p.5 Wiring Diagram"

Neobiome Intelligence relevance

This is the RT_202 datasheet the wind_turbine page was gated on — the “supplier datasheet (rated power, Cp, CF at NZ wind speeds)” the model-decision required before any vertical-axis turbine could enter the NI small_wind/wind menu. Its value, and its limits, for the D01 wind path:

  • First VAWT spec in the corpus (D01 / wind_turbine). Until now the wiki’s VAWT evidence was benchmark-only (CR_013: VAWT Cp ~0.15-0.30 vs ~0.35-0.45 HAWT; advantages “mechanical, not yield”). This gives a concrete community-scale VAWT: 10 kW rated, 3-blade aluminium H-rotor, 6.0 m high x 5.5 m wide, cut-in 2.5 m/s, rated 11 m/s — a real machine to sit beside the HAWT references DS_001 (2 kW NZ) and DS_002 (15.6 kW certified).

  • Derived swept area and capacity factor (DERIVED — not stated in the datasheet). For an H-type (straight-bladed) VAWT the swept area = rotor height x rotor width = 6.0 m x 5.5 m = 33 m². From the manufacturer AEP table, the implied capacity factor = annual energy / (rated kW x 8,760 h): at 5 m/s = 15,026 / (10 x 8,760) = ~17.2% CF; at 10 m/s = 52,770 / 87,600 = ~60.2% CF. The ~17% @ 5 m/s sits just below the certified Bergey Excel 15’s 21.8% @ 5 m/s (DS_002) and just above the NZ Thinair’s ~16% @ 5 m/s (DS_001) — i.e. broadly inside the wiki’s ~10-30% NZ small-wind band (CR_013), which is a useful sanity check that the manufacturer’s low-wind AEP is not wildly inflated. The ~60% @ 10 m/s figure is only reached at a 10 m/s mean site (rare in NZ) and must not be used as a design CF for typical inland sites.

  • What it does NOT give (why RT_202 is not fully resolved). (1) No price — RT_202 explicitly sought an NZD cost; there is none, so the CapEx/D21 cost cell for VAWT is still unfilled. (2) No power coefficient (Cp) — unlike DS_001 (Cp 0.35), so the HAWT-vs-VAWT efficiency comparison still rests on CR_013’s generic band. (3) No stated CF/AEP basis — the annual-energy table has no stated wind distribution (Rayleigh k=2? Weibull? constant-speed?), so it is not directly comparable to the certified 5 m/s Rayleigh figures the RT_290 method needs; the datasheet only name-drops “EN61400-2 (IEC 61400-2)”. (4) Uncertified — self-reported manufacturer figures, no independent test report (contrast DS_002’s ICC-SWCC certification).

  • Reliability caveats for the model (be critical). (a) Manufacturer marketing sheet, uncertified => data_quality: medium, a notch below the two “high” HAWT datasheets. (b) VAWTs are the known-lower-yield axis (CR_013) — treat the AEP table as an optimistic manufacturer curve, not field performance. (c) Internal inconsistency in the raw: the dump load is “12kW Box” in the spec panel but “15kW dump load box” in the Triple Safety Protection text. (d) UK/China-sourced (Aeolos), no NZ supply chain, no NZ install cost, no NZD price — so even the specs need an NZ landed-cost + install overlay before any economic use. (e) Hub-height/turbulence: the model-relevant advantage claimed for VAWTs is turbulent low-wind tolerance, which this sheet asserts (low cut-in) but does not evidence with turbulence-intensity test data.

Model routing: feeds d01_renewable_energy_storage (energy generation evidence) and the wind_turbine technology page (the VAWT subsection it was gated on). It should be added to wind_turbine evidence_sources alongside DS_001/DS_002. It does not by itself justify creating a separate VAWT technology page or adding a VAWT to the engine: a single uncertified source with no price is too thin a basis for that model decision.

Research targets

Advanced (not resolved)

  • RT_202 (ADVANCED → this page, NOT resolved): the sought VAWT supplier datasheet is now in hand — rated power (10 kW), power/energy curve, cut-in (2.5 m/s), and rotor dimensions (=> derived ~33 m² swept, ~17% CF @ 5 m/s) are captured. But RT_202 also sought a stated CF basis and an NZD cost, and the datasheet supplies neither (no Cp, no stated wind-distribution basis, no price, uncertified). Keep RT_202 open/annotated — the residual is a price/cost and a certified or parametrised (Cp + Rayleigh-basis) VAWT curve.

Research gaps

  • None new. The residual (an NZD landed + installed cost for a community-scale VAWT, and a certified or Cp-parametrised VAWT power curve at a stated wind-distribution basis so it can be integrated on the same footing as DS_001/DS_002 by the RT_290 method) is exactly the outstanding remainder of RT_202 itself — carried in the annotated RT_202 row rather than opened as separate targets.

Notes

Manufacturer product datasheet (Aeolos-V Series, Aeolos-V 10kW), 5-page PDF, read verbatim via pdftotext -layout. Every quantitative figure in the key_claims is traceable to the raw; swept area (~33 m²) and capacity factors (~17% / ~60%) are DERIVED, not stated and are flagged as such. data_quality: medium — self-reported, uncertified manufacturer performance (no independent test report, no Cp, no stated wind-distribution basis for the AEP table), one notch below the certified/parametrised HAWT siblings DS_001 (high) and DS_002 (high). context: ni — the calibration value is the VAWT spec + derived CF for the D01 wind menu.

  • Page cites are to the PDF page index, with the cover page counted: PDF page 1 is a cover (“windturbinestar.com” only); the Specification / Performance / Safety / Optional panels, the Annual Energy Output table, the Power Curve chart and the noise/immission map are all on PDF p.2, the “Triple Safety Protection” + “High Efficiency” text on p.3, “Intelligence Control” on p.4, and the Wiring Diagram on p.5. (An earlier count that treated the first content page as p.1 was corrected against the PDF, +1 across the board.)
  • Noise-map label corrected: the “No data above 15m/s” note belongs to the sound pressure levels immission (noise) map, not the Power Curve chart — re-attributed in the key_claims. The immission map is a distinct figure carrying the dB-band legend (510 to 5055 dB) vs distance (10-45 m) and wind speed (5-15 m/s).
  • Undated: no publication date is printed on the datasheet => year: null (not fabricated). Manufacturer strapline “SINCE 1986”; UK company registration address given (27 Old Gloucester Street, London). url: set to the manufacturer site printed on the sheet (windturbinestar.com); the exact product-PDF URL is not on the file.
  • Internal inconsistency (verbatim, retained): PWM dump load is “12kW Box” in the Safety panel (p.2) but “15kW dump load box” in the Triple Safety Protection text (p.3). Both are recorded as written; neither is corrected.
  • VAWT scope: vertical-axis turbines are the lower-yield axis at NZ’s low-mean-wind sites (CR_013); their appeal is mechanical/turbulence-tolerance, not energy yield. This datasheet does not change that finding — it supplies a concrete spec, not evidence of superior low-wind yield.

Connections

Links to

Sources (3): CR_013 · DS_001 · DS_002

EDT domains (1): D01: Renewable Energy & Storage Systems

Technologies (1): community-scale)

Referenced by